Life

My Relationship With Nature

Summer is on the way and maybe that’s what’s gotten me thinking about me and nature and how I think about it. I’ve spent a lot of time outdoors since coming home to Wales in Easter and even spent a short time in the Lake District. I’ve enjoyed beautiful sunshine and a light heat and I’ve spent a number of hours sitting on the grass. I’ve been taking notice in those moments of the nature around me and it’s made me feel better. It’s really been helping with my mission to live in the moment.

As a girl from a very countryside filled area, nature and that type of atmosphere has always been important to me and very prevalent in my life. Even still I find it hard to make the claim as an outdoorsy person as I’ve never really taken up hiking or walking other than a stroll through the park or along the castle moat and when we were assigned nature writing at university I struggled to fill the page with the beautiful words that some of my peers mustered. My relationship with nature seems much more relaxed than that.

I enjoy spending time outside or having the windows open. I love the smell of fresh air (especially at night). I love watching the sun rise and fall if I’m lucky enough to catch it and one summer, every night I would be sat at my bedroom window as the first star appeared in the sky. I love the indoors for the cosines that it provides me but I also know that that would be nothing without the outdoors either and I don’t think I could go too long without having a plant in my room or the windows propped open (even if I do get ridiculously easily cold.)

I love easy, calm and thought filled walks in familiar places and the smell of freshly cut grass. Some sort of smile even comes to my face when the mountains surrounding my town reek of farm animal waste. It reminds me of the trips my family and I used to take to Folly Farm in Pembrokeshire.

My relationship with nature is different from a lot of the nature lovers that I know but I would still claim to be a person who does in fact love nature, even if it is in a different way. I want to take the time to realise that more. To stop and appreciate a couple of seconds of breathing in fresh air of sun spilling in through my window. I want to be able to be the person who can take note and silently thank nature for always being there.

Leave a Reply

