Bookish

A Review of Some Beautiful Books

So this month I really wanted to get back into reading now that my exams are all finished up and I thought what better way to ease myself back into the reading habit than picking up some beautiful graphic novels and picture focused books. I read three in total and I thought I would briefly share some of my thoughts on each for you today.

 

Jane, the Fox and Me by Fanny Britt

Jane, the Fox and Me beautifully tells the story of a girl dealing with bullying due to her weight at school and how she escapes her sadness through her reading of Jane Eyre. She draws parallels between herself and Jane and as someone who adores the novel Jane Eyre completely, I loved that the main character in the book looked at the novel in a very simjane-3.jpgilar way that I did after my first reading. Though the story itself wasn’t ground breaking, it was the simple beauty of it paired with the absolutely stunning illustrations that kept me enthralled. The colour pallet was very much suited to the tone of the book and I do so wish I could have posters on my walls of some of the beautiful drawings inside.

 

Hygge: The Danish Art of Happiness by Marie Tourell Søderberg

With a sunning calm coloured and eye catching cover I couldn’t help but pick this one up. I’d heard a little about the814arl7EWXL.jpg concept of hygge before but I really wanted to learn more. This book was again a really comforting and quick read that taught me a lot about Danish culture. The concept of hygge in it’s most simple terms is sort of like living in cosiness and I very much got that vibe while reading. It very much made me strive to live this warm, loving and pleasure filled kind of life and it gave me many ideas on how to do so. It reminded me how important it is to live in the moment and to revel in the little things that bring me happiness and I was very grateful for that.

 

The Encyclopaedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg

13299538._SX540_.jpg

It was the stunning illustrations once again that drew me into this wonderful graphic novel. Telling the tale of a travelling story teller and his love during early earth, the adorable story paired with equally beautiful imagery makes for such a heart warming read. With a mix of little humorous quips and heartfelt moments this graphic novel seemed to find an excellent balance of action, adventure and quiet moments of love story. Again, the colour pallet is wonderful and, as with Jane, the Fox and Me, brightens and darkens perfectly depending on the tone of the moment within the story. Flicking through this one really brought a smile to my face during every page.

 

So those are some of the lovely more image and illustrative focused books that have helped me get back into the habit of reading this month. They all provided a very cosy heart warming feeling and I would definitely recommend any of the above. I look forward to reading more graphic novels in the future!

Leave a Reply

